Book Review: XOXO by Axie Oh

Summary of XOXO: Cello prodigy Jenny wants to get into a prestigious music conservatory, but her contest judges say that she needs more spark. When she meets mysterious, handsome Jaewoo in her uncle’s Los Angeles karaoke bar, she wonders if a relationship would inspire her or derail her dreams. She allows him to pull her out of her comfort zone for one unforgettable night of adventure before he flies back to South Korea without a word. 

Three months later, when Jenny and her mother arrive in South Korea to take care of her ailing grandmother, she’s shocked to discover that Jaewoo is a student at the same arts academy where she’s enrolled for the semester. And he’s not just any student. He’s a member of one of the biggest K-pop bands in the world—XOXO — and he’s strictly forbidden from dating.

Jenny’s Rating: ✭✭✭

Initial Thoughts: I finished Axie Oh’s Duology (Rebel Seoul and Rogue Heart) in November (2020). When I was looking at her author website to write the review, I noticed that she had a new book coming out. It was a happy surprise when I got a Netgalley advanced reader copy. (XOXO comes out July 13, 2021.) While Rebel Seoul is a different genre (dystopia), I thought the romance in XOXO was much more believable. If you’ve been following her books, you’re going to see growth in writing that makes you wonder what she will write next. This is a cute romance that has a mix of K-Pop idols (like in K-Pop Confidential) and what it’s like to date a superstar (like in Hello, I Love You). 

***Everything below this will contain spoilers. Proceed with your own discretion.***

Here are 5 parts I want to talk about XOXO by Axie Oh. 

  1. “We’re two of the members of the group XOXO. I’m the maknae, the youngest in the group, and also the rapper. Nathaniel’s a vocalist and main dancer. We also have our leader who’s a rapper like me, as well as our main vocalist.” 

Youngmin (the maknae) explains to Jenny how their boy band (XOXO) is set up. Honestly, I’ve been seeing the “maknae” term thrown around in K-Pop books, but I didn’t realize that it merely meant the youngest band member. I actually thought it was slang for the person that makes everyone happy. I also thought the original word meant fish (UH? What? haha). Anyways, I appreciated that Axie Oh gave the explanation, or I would have been eventually put right in an awkward situation. Also, this is near the beginning of the book, but Jenny doesn’t yet know that their “main vocalist” is the Jaewoo that she met in her uncle’s karaoke bar in the first scene. 

  1. “It’s never too early for gimbap, so I unwrap mine and eat it like a burrito. The smorgasbord of ingredients is like a symphony in my mouth— seasoned and sautéed carrots, spinach, and burdock root, plus imitation crab, yellow pickled radish, and bulgogi, neatly encased in rice and laver seaweed and sprinkled with sesame seeds.”

I go back and forth between what my favorite Korean foods are, but one of my top 5 is gimbap. I love it so much, and my mouth started watering when I read that description. Also, I totally agree that it’s never too early for gimbap. I used to eat it for breakfast all the time. 

  1. “There’s also a love story attached to the shrine. Apparently during , like, the Goryeo period, two lovers from rival families made the trek to pray to the shrine, then afterward, disappeared into these mountains and were never seen again.”

Jenny and Jaewoo join their school trip to a campground with a shrine. I marked this passage because I thought it was foreshadowing what would happen to Jaewoo (so he could stay in a relationship with Jenny). Jaewoo and Jenny do (break up and) get back together, though, with plans to pursue their futures. Honestly, I would like to see if that really works. (Part of me wants to have been right about the foreshadowing, and part of me is happy Jenny and Jaewoo are going to try to have a relationship while pursuing their careers.)

  1. “While there are bathhouses in LA, I’ve never gone to one so I’m not entirely sure what to expect. But I quickly get into the fun of it as Sori, Angela, and I strip naked and take turns scrubbing each other’s backs in a spa setting, complete with showers and multiple bathing pools . Afterward, we head over to a communal lounge area, dressed in oversized pajama-like clothing provided by the bathhouse. We get cold noodles in the restaurant and cucumber sheet masks from the small store, placing them on our faces and lying in a bed of cool stones, giggling at every little thing because we’re functioning on very little sleep.”

If you have never visited a jimjlbong, a Korean bathhouse, then you’re totally missing out! Also this is the first book I’ve read that included it, so I had to mention it here. My favorite thing to do in a jimjilbong was moving from pool to pool (hotter to colder) and getting a rush. But the coffee and ginseng pools were also fun. You have to give it a try! 

  1. “I was wrong to begin a relationship with you thinking it would fail in the end. I should know better. I’m a musician. You don’t practice in order to give a bad recital. You work hard, you put in the time, energy, and passion, and you give a beautiful performance.”

Aw! This metaphor at the end of the book shows you just how cute the relationship is between two musically -talented people. Jenny and Jaewoo forever! 

Final Thoughts: If you love boarding school drama, K-pop Idols, or K-Culture, I think you will enjoy this book. If you’re reading it before the release date, I highly recommend pre-ordering! And, Axie Oh will definitely remain on my to-watch list. Make sure you check out her wesbsite: http://axieoh.com/ . I can’t wait to see her future books! 

Published by midwestkimchi

4 Ladies Who Want to Share Their Love of Korean Culture

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started